What’s on my iPod nano?

I got a pink iPod nano for Christmas this year, and at first I was resistant to adopting the “way of life” that is an iPod. After I invested a full two days around the holidays loading some of my favorite music into iTunes and onto my iPod (and spent another few hours researching and acquiring the right protective case….and don’t get me started on earphones!), I became more of a believer. Now, when I’m not teaching, you will often see me around town with the signature white earphones hanging around my neck.

Here are some of my non-violin music favorites (See my other post for all of my violin favorites):

  • Mozart Requiem by the Berlin Philharmonic and Herbert von Karajan – nothing like the heavenly sounds of Mozart and human voices to fill your ears at almost any time of day (in fact, it’s what I have on right now)
  • Bach Goldberg Variations by Murray Perahia – along with Mozart, Bach is as close to religion as it comes in music
  • The Tallis Scholars – fans of early music may be familiar with this amazing choral group from the UK
  • Nightswimming, REM
  • Somewhere Over the Rainbow, Israel Kamakawiwo’ole
  • James Blunt’s Back to Bedlam album
  • Madonna’s Ray of Light album
  • Many Rivers to Cross, UB40
  • By Your Side, Sade
  • Waiting on the World to Change, John Mayer
  • In a Little While, U2
  • Son of a Preacher Man, Dusty Springfield
  • Erasure (need I say more?)
  • Sunday Morning, Maroon 5
  • Vonda Shepard
Leave a Reply

