Making space for happiness

Here’s one way to look at suffering, courtesy of Lance Armstrong:

“Suffering, I was beginning to think, was essential to a good life, and as inextricable from such a life as bliss. It’s a great enhancer. It might last a minute, or a month, but eventually it subsides, and when it does, something else takes its place, and maybe that thing is a greater space. For happiness. Each time I encountered suffering, I believe that I grew, and further defined my capacities–not just my physical ones, but my interior ones as well, for contentment, friendship, or any other human experience.”

~ Lance Armstrong, 21st century cyclist and 7 time Tour de France winner

Leave a Reply

