Yo-Yo Ma & Friends Television Special

November 17, 2008

Yo-Yo Ma & Friends Songs of Peace and Joy will air a television special on the Ovation Network.

December 8th
9p Eastern / 6 pm Pacific
12a Eastern / 9 pm Pacific

December 23rd
8p Eastern/ 5 pm Pacific
11p Eastern / 8 pm Pacific
2am Eastern / 11pm Pacific

Please check your local listings.


Piano Accompanist To Join in January 2009

November 11, 2008

I’m thrilled to announce that Mr. John Lehrack will be joining The Music Within Us community as our Piano Accompanist starting in January 2009. An active professional musician for the past two decades, John brings a unique background and training in music that will immediately impact our students’ experience in rehearsals and performance.

We have been blessed since the inception of The Music Within Us to have several parent volunteers who have graciously shared their piano skills and talents with us as accompanists. We are and always will be so grateful for their contributions and dedication to our group. Now, our students’ repertoire has expanded to a level that will require the experience of a professional pianist as our accompanist. From my initial experience with John, I have been impressed by his skills, which encompass a hard-to-find combination of deft technique, sight-reading, and musical instincts, as well as the ability to listen, to lead and to follow the other musicians from his position at the keyboard. I look forward to collaborating with him starting in January.

John has served as substitute rehearsal accompanist for Honolulu Symphony Chorus, Artist-in-Residence for Hawaii Opera Theatre, guest accompanist for the Maui Symphony Chorus and the Lesbian/Gay Chorus of San Francisco as well as principal accompanist for the Jewish Folk Chorus of San Francisco and the Honolulu Chorale.  Additionally he has served as musical director/pianist for over three dozen theatre productions, as music director for many churches and as a pianist/organist for over 700 wedding ceremonies and events.

We look forward to spending our Saturdays with John, and widening the circle of The Music Within Us community as we welcome him.