Introducing a NEW public class!

The Music Within Us presents…

Music Improvisation for Everyone

Discover the music within you!

This class is designed for ALL LEVELS and ALL AGES.

  • Are you a “recovering” classically trained musician, looking to rediscover the joy in your playing?
  • Are you a new parent looking for simple ways to enjoy music with your child?
  • Do you consider yourself “tone deaf”?
  • Do you like listening to music, but have never considered yourself to be “musical”?

This introductory class is for YOU!

You will…

  • Discover new ways of listening
  • Explore new possibilities in your self-expression
  • Notice the rhythm and “groove” in everyday sounds
  • Break down your preconceptions about music
  • Understand more deeply what makes certain music “work” for you
  • Have fun in a nurturing environment

When: Saturday, December 19, 2009, 1:30PM – 3:00PM

Where: The Music Within Us studio

2483 Old Middlefield Way, Suite 150, Mountain View, CA 94043

Cost: $15/single, $25/pair (purchased at the same time), children 17 and under FREE (must be accompanied by an adult)

To register for this class, click here.

3 Responses to Introducing a NEW public class!

  1. kerry says:

    Lisa Chu of WHS?

  2. Eugene Chan says:

    I took the class yesterday and it was FANTASTIC.

    It was 90 minutes long and–true to her word–no music experience was
    necessary. There was a group of about eight of us there. I brought my two kids, which in retrospect I’m not sure I’d recommend, but it was fine.

    * Introductions
    * Breathing – we all just breathed with eyes closed
    * Tibeten Buddhist chant exercises – following the chakras
    * Intense Slow Walking – the exercise was to sing a familiar song
    (like Twinkle Twinkle Little Star) but at the slowest possible pace
    you could do.
    * Rhythm – beats and patterns
    * Paired Note Mirroring – we were paired up with another person and
    asked to hold the same note with each other.
    * Melody – we all made up snippets of melody and the group repeated
    it. Then we chained them all together.

    I thought it was a great class and it really pushed me out of my
    comfort zone (in a good way). I love music but the idea of being a
    musician is very unfamiliar to me so this definitely was a way to get
    my musical soul together without being embarrassed or intimidated.

    What struck me is how the “music” part of my brain is very different
    than other parts and I felt like I was trying to learn how to swim for
    the first time. Very ungainly and uncoordinated in an environment
    that was unfamiliar. And then I saw that everyone else was kind of in
    the same boat so I felt better. 🙂

    It was a great group bonding thing as well–I could see it being part
    of a larger gathering or conference.

    She ended it with us all singing a beautiful Buddhist meditation song.
    At the end, I was TIRED. But good tired like the way you feel after
    working out.

Leave a Reply

